Make a joyful noise

Make a joyful noise

A year and a bit ago my Dad died. He was only 61 but had spent the last few years unable to do anything for himself due to early onset dementia. But this post isn’t about his illness or his death. It’s about something he taught me in life: I’m sure I will be writing many more posts about things my Dad taught me.
You see my Dad loved music and singing; though he was no Pavarotti, or Tom Jones thankfully! He really enjoyed singing out loudly in worship at church. Now I am ashamed to say there was a time I was embarrassed by this and even more disappointing, like many teenagers, I didn’t hide that fact from him.
After many years and discussions I began to realise that he was filled with joy. Singing was one way of expressing that. It didn’t matter to him that he wasn’t always totally in tune or that his voice was chart toppingly good. Why? Because he knew it didn’t matter to God. But what did matter was that he could express his joy through worshipping God in song.

God doesn’t say come all who have beautiful voices and sing, everyone else better shake a tambourine or just make tea!

He said
“Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all you lands. Serve the Lord with gladness, come before his presence with singing” Psalm 100 verses 1-2

Thing is I am the same. I haven’t a great voice nor am I confident in singing. But I do love to sing and the most joyful times in my life are usually filled with music and singing. Now I think I fully understand why he continued to “make a joyful noise” despite my cringing; as teenagers do. I am so glad he did, not just because of what it taught me, but because I can stand in church or be at home or in the car and sing the songs I remember him joyfully singing out to God. It has left me with more happy memories to remember him by especially when the last few years of his life were lived as a stranger to us, and now that he’s gone.

I am looking forward to a day when I will again stand by his side singing joyful praise to our Lord an king!

Leave a Reply

