Toddler taming …. more like tongue taming!

Toddler taming …. more like tongue taming!

Isn’t it great how a child’s vocabulary grows so much from the first word to full sentences by 3 years old (or there abouts). I love hearing Annie Rose come out with something new be it a single word, phrase or even part of a song.

so what are my toddlers favourite phrases ….

My do it (classic one!)

mine (another classic)

time got watch (big brothers current phrase)

look Mummy

see it

watch Upsy Daisy (or George)

my found it

you coming (always wants someone to do and do things with her)

BUT then she also says…

stop it! or just stop it!

Just hold it!

Leave lone!

You’ll note the exclamation marks on these last few and maybe you can imagine the force the are said with. So do I need to tame my toddler? Sadly it’s not my toddler that needs taming … it’s  my tongue! You see these phrases are just parroting, these are the things she hears me squawk at her brothers as my patience runs low …or out… and I lose my tongue.

I’m ashamed to hear those words come out of her mouth knowing it’s my speech she is copying. So I need to correct myself before I start doing any toddler taming!

It reminded me of these verses in James 1: 19-20

 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,  because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.

and James 1:26

 Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless.

and James 3:9

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. 10 Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be.

I’m being honest and holding my hands up to this one. I too often run out of patience, become angry and speak in a way that is not gracious and does not show my children my love for them. Thankfully I can seek forgiveness and let them see that my reactions are not OK. We as home educators plan away at what and how we will teach our children. Let us not forget what we may be teaching them by our very nature. When our actions betray the way we’d like to be we can use them to show our children we can seek forgiveness, be forgiven and be gracious.

Maybe repenting and forgiving show more love and selflessness too?

I hope you appreciate my openness and honesty. Maybe like me you find it refreshing to find a realistic post about how we sometimes fail to be who we want to be rather than all the polished “look what we did” posts.

Leave a Reply

